A Christmas thought about identity

General forum for any topics not covered by the other forums
dcrevier
Relationship with Alcor: Member

A Christmas thought about identity

Post by dcrevier » Mon Dec 23, 2019 3:29 pm

A common concern among cryonicists is that they might be revived in a manner that would somehow, and perhaps very subtly, make them different from their original selves. This would result in a new person being revived. Like the proverbial Kirk unwittingly meeting his supposed demise everytime he is beamed up or down from the Enterprise, the original person would be dead.

I beg to differ, and I would like to share for Christmas a thought that I've had on the subject, which I found surprisingly soothing. I am an engineer with little patience for long-winded philosophical arguments. This idea is thus based on a simple consideration that most members of this forum should be comfortable with: identity is not an intrinsic property, and in fact largely a matter of opinion. In everyday situations, like deciding whether we are the same person as yesterday despite the hiatus in our sleep, we have little choice. Our opinion is pretty well made up for us by survival instinct and social conditioning. In more unusual cases, as for Kirk above, there is a lot of wiggle room.